On September 29, 2021, the Edmonton Student Alliance and the City of Edmonton Youth Council hosted a Mayoral Forum at the new Students Association of MacEwan University building. They had 7 mayoral candidates attend to speak to their campaigns and answer questions. Candidates in attendance included Rick Comrie, Brian (Breezy) Gregg, Kim Krushell, Michael Oshry, Amarjeet Sohi, Diana Steele, and Cheryl Watson. Approximately 40 students were in physical attendance with more online watching through live streaming.

(NAITSA VP Internal Moore and President Kotelniski listening to candidate speeches.)

From an Executive Council perspective, it was extremely important to have students informed on the potential mayoral candidates. This was an excellent opportunity for students to raise their hands and ask about student issues, such as affordable housing, accessible and safe transit, and how to keep students in Edmonton after their studies. 

(NAITSA President Kotelniski holding the microphone for VP External Sarzynski.)

(Mayoral candidate Michael Oshry answering a student question.)

(Amarjeet Sohi, newly elected Mayor of Edmonton, speaking to his platform.)

Since the forum, the City of Edmonton has officially announced results from the election on October 18th, 2021. The next mayor will be Amarjeet Sohi (pictured above) who won with 45% of the municipal votes.

(Members of the City of Edmonton Youth Council and Edmonton Student Alliance pictured with the Mayoral candidates in a group photo.)

NAITSA’s Executive Council looks forward to working with Amarjeet Sohi and the newly elected councillors to make Edmonton a better place for students!

While we are busy with our advocacy work, we are always available to discuss issues that are important to NAIT students. We are interested in your feedback so tell us how we can improve and advocate for you!

Your NAITSA EC Team,

President Jerilyn Kotelniski
VP Academic Renata Medeiros
VP External Natalie Sarzynski
VP Internal Jorgia Moore